Friday, July 24, 2009

A Mode For Each Note Of Major Scale

Basically, you have listed progressions in a Major key only. These progressions are all from the major scale. If you slowed the progressions down to the point where each chord is held long enough to be heard as its own tonal center, then you could apply the different modes to each chord.

I ii iii IV V vi vii

Respectively, this would be:

Ionian, Dorian, Phrygian, Lydian, Mixolydian, Aeolean and Locrean.

Locrian however is almost never used as it is seen as an extention of Mixolydian or Phrygian.

Take the example of a I-vi-ii-V in the key of C

if you took it chord by chord, the modes would be:

C Ionian-A Aeolian- D Dorian- G Mixolydian

This is the way that I think in order to be able to outline the chord tones of each chord. Most people will just say, "It's all in the key of C so C ionian over the whole thing".


Anonymous said...

If some one needs to be updated with most up-to-date technologies therefore he must be
go to see this web page and be up to date every day.
Also see my web site: Can You Buy Sildenafil Online

Post a Comment